Learning to Let Go

My heart cried out this morning…

Dear God,

I have a real spiritual battle happening in my life right now. It encompasses the feelings of jealousy and envy, being unforgiving, and being unable to let go of the anger that is bubbling up inside me plus so much more. Can You move me into a place of prayer for me not to be so self-righteous, to have a completely open heart, to be a humbled servant letting You lord over my life, to find, seek and give forgiveness, and to have reverential fear for You. I feel the Holy Spirit leading me, and, yes, but…there are parts of me that want to kick and scream until finally I literally can’t do anything more but seek Your way. I can’t live in the light of Your love when there is a wall of sin in my life. I’m tired of trying to do it my way. I’m seeking Your way.

Learning to let go,

Melissa

I keep on telling myself…

“This is my race. This is my journey. This is my cross to bear for His glory.”

“Slow and steady wins the race”

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking one another, envying one another.” Galatians 5:22-26

“The Lord is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him”  Psalm 103:13

“Avoiding a fight is a mark of honor; only fools insist on quarreling.”  Proverbs 20:3

“Seek the LORD while he may be found; call upon him while he is near; let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the LORD, that he may have compassion on him, and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.” Isaiah 55:6-7

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” 2  Timothy 1:7

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 2:16-18

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.” Hebrews 10:24

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.  Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit.  You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.  If anyone does not abide in Me, he is cast out as a branch and is withered; and they gather them and throw them into the fire, and they are burned. If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples.  “As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.  No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.  You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name He may give you.  These things I command you, that you love one another. ” John 15

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.” Hebrews 12:1

5 thoughts on “Learning to Let Go

  1. Pingback: The symbol of the Holy Trinity « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  2. Pingback: Change Your Mind to Change Your Heart « He Dwells — The B'log in My Eye

  3. Pingback: How Do You Spend Your Quiet Time? | Small Town World . . .

  4. Pingback: The Many Parts of Me « Lillie's Diary

Leave a Reply

